What is the best Eng-Sp / Es-Ing Legal dictionary?
Thread poster: Floria2011
Floria2011
Floria2011
Local time: 20:03
Apr 22, 2012

Would anyone be able to let me know if they know of an extremely concise English- Spanish / Español- Inglés legal dictionary that also contains a description of the terms?

Thanks in advance.

hazmatgerman (X)
hazmatgerman (X)
Local time: 03:03
English to German
get hold Apr 22, 2012

of as many as you can. The more the better.

Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:03
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Hi Floria Apr 23, 2012

I am no expert in Spanish-English, but the 'Bilingual law dictionary' by Gallegos was mentioned as one of only 12 bilingual law dictionaries that were considered as (any) good by the authors of 'The Quality of Legal Dictionaries: An Assessment.' (by R. De Groot and Conrad Van Laer).

'In this article, De Groot and Van Laer assess the quality of many bilingual and multilingual legal dictionaries for the European Union languages. A truly interesting and useful part of the articl
... See more
I am no expert in Spanish-English, but the 'Bilingual law dictionary' by Gallegos was mentioned as one of only 12 bilingual law dictionaries that were considered as (any) good by the authors of 'The Quality of Legal Dictionaries: An Assessment.' (by R. De Groot and Conrad Van Laer).

'In this article, De Groot and Van Laer assess the quality of many bilingual and multilingual legal dictionaries for the European Union languages. A truly interesting and useful part of the article is at the beginning, where the authors write some general remarks about translation issues to consider when tackling legal terminology - this is in effect a short but useful course on legal translation.'

Please see here:

http://www.aboutranslation.com/2012/04/truly-useful-article-on-quality-of.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:%20AboutTranslation%20(About%20Translation) and here: