Stran v tématu:   [1 2] >
Can I translate legal documents without yet being a sworn translation?
Autor vlákna: Leonel Acuna
Leonel Acuna
Leonel Acuna
Chile
Apr 5, 2014

I am currently in my last year of translation studies and I wonder If I can already start to advertise my services as a legal translator even though I haven't been certified yet.

Reed James
Reed James
Chile
Local time: 22:43
Člen (2005)
španělština -> angličtina
You sure can! Apr 5, 2014

Hi Leonel,

You are only required to be a sworn translator if it is legally required a country for certain translations. I know this is the case for Spain, but even then, I'm just asked by the agencies to place an official looking seal on the document with my name and ID number — which apparently suffices. Otherwise, you can translate anything you want for whomever you want. Your only limitation will be your knowledge, skills and rates you want to accept. Otherwise, the sky's the l
... See more
Hi Leonel,

You are only required to be a sworn translator if it is legally required a country for certain translations. I know this is the case for Spain, but even then, I'm just asked by the agencies to place an official looking seal on the document with my name and ID number — which apparently suffices. Otherwise, you can translate anything you want for whomever you want. Your only limitation will be your knowledge, skills and rates you want to accept. Otherwise, the sky's the limit. I can translating legal documents for almost 20 years and I'm not a sworn anything (I've been known to swear, but very rarely) @!#$.

Legal translation is very satisfying, so I encourage you to try it.

Saludos de Santiago
Collapse

Bernhard Sulzer
Bernhard Sulzer  Identity Verified
Spojené státy americké
angličtina -> němčina
+ ...
Rates that you charge Apr 5, 2014

Reed D James wrote:

Hi Leonel,